Helping You Find Your NEXT Favorite Wine!


I took the day off to do some spring cleaning. When I finally got to my son’s room I REALLY wanted to take a break but couldn’t because well, his room really needed my attention. While I was wrestling with the mounds of college stuff he had piled in the corner, I came across something that I should probably take credit for. It was a newspaper clipping from 2010 for a wine festival that was a fundraiser for a local fire company. Yep, I put that tiny piece of paper, attached with a paperclip to his fafsa application, in his room amidst the mountains of other assorted things that he can’t live without, yet hasn’t seen in months. It was amazing that I found it at all, so naturally I took it as a sign! I should  take a break and write about fundraising festivals!

As luck would have it, there is a fundraising wine festival coming up at the end of April in Altoona, PA. The festival is called Uncork the Alleghenies and a portion of the proceeds goes to the Blair County Miracle League which is a baseball league for kids with disabilities. The folks behind the Blair County Miracle League have been raising money for years to build a very unique field (which was finished a few years ago). The batters-box is oversized so kids in wheelchairs can get right up there and swing a bat and hit that ball. It’s a VERY heartwarming sight to watch a little boy or girl play baseball, who before this, didn’t have the opportunity. When you have a chance check out their link.

I digress, Uncork the Alleghenies is being held on Saturday, April 30 at the Altoona Railroaders Museum in the heart of Altoona and Railroad country and is being sponsored by our friends at Fox 8. The festival has two opportunities to visit. You can get tickets on the web site to attend from 2- 5 or 6 – 9  and there are 11 wineries representing some of Central Pennsylvania’s finest!

Folks from Allegheny Cellars Winery will be there, they sell Big Foot Wine (one of my favorites), Brookmere Winery and Vineyard Inn from Belleville (my first winery), Deer Creek Winery, Flickerwood Wine Cellars (Sweet Angel Red – heavenly), hometown hero’s Oak Spring Winery, Mount Nittany Vineyard and Winery, Raspberry Acres, Seven Mountains Wine Cellars (winners of two Governors awards 2011), Starr Hill Vineyard and Winery (Bailey Road Red), The Winery at Wilcox and Walnut Hill.

As you can see, the wine list looks amazing. My only regret is that I will be in New Jersey when this festival is going on, so I won’t be able to give you any reports from the event.  Therefore, I’m counting on all of you to attend and give us some feedback. Feel free to simply respond to this blog post and let us know what you found and how much you enjoyed it.

Guess I better get back to cleaning – sigh

Leave a Reply

